APFA BOARD OF DIRECTORS ANNUAL CONVENTION MARCH 7 - 11, 2003

Hilton DFW Lakes Grapevine, Texas 76051

Y = Yes N = No P = Pass A = Abstain N/A = Absent PXY = Proxy Vote

Resolution Tally Shee	Reso	lution	Tally	Shee
------------------------------	------	--------	--------------	------

Resolution: #8

Maker: Bott

Second: Nasca

Date: 3/11/03

Time: 1205

1	ī	ī	ī	Г	ī	-
		Υ	N	Р	Α	N/A
BOS	Carrigan	•				
BOSI	McCauley	•				
DCA	Valenta	•				
DCAI	Madison	•				
DFW	O'Kelley	•				
IDF	Watson	•				
JFK	Nasca	•				
LAX	Nikides	•				
LAXI	Mitchell	•				
LGA	Edwards	•				
MIA	Washbish	•				
IMA	Trautman	•				
ORD	Mallon	•				
IOR	Moehring	•				
RDUI	Turley	•				
SFO	Syracuse	•				
SFOI	LeWinter	•				
STL	Cooper					•
PRES	Ward (Tie Breaker)					

YES: 17 NO: ABSTAIN: ABSENT: 1

STATUS: PASSED (•) FAILED () TABLED () WITHDRAWN ()

WHEREAS, the APFA Policy Manual Section 2 H.5.f., was adopted by the Board of Directors of the APFA establishing the Jose Chiu Award on January 11, 2001; and

WHEREAS, the purpose of the Jose Chiu Award is to recognize and acknowledge Flight Attendants involved in incidents or accidents who have exemplified the finest professionalism of the American Airlines Flight Attendant Corps; and

APFA
Board of Directors Annual Convention
March 7 – 11, 2003
Page Two
Resolution #8

WHEREAS, on June 1, 1999, Flight #1420 crashed in Little Rock, Arkansas on approach from Dallas Ft. Worth Airport; and

WHEREAS, four APFA American Airlines Flight Attendants were working crewmembers on board Flight #1420, and despite injuries and adverse conditions exhibited incredible acts of courage and struggle to save lives in the evacuation of the aircraft; and

WHEREAS, the APFA Board of Directors believes these acts deserve honor and recognition.

BE IT THEREFORE RESOLVED, that the APFA Board of Directors awards the Union's highest honor for safety, the Jose Chiu Award to Flight Attendant Nancy Luna, Flight Attendant Tammy Gardner, Flight Attendant Jennifer Chapman-Buck and Flight Attendant Laurie Nelson for their selfless acts of valor and bravery.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that these awards be presented at the next Annual APFA Board of Directors Convention.