APFA

BOARD OF DIRECTORS MEETING

SPECIAL BOARD OF DIRECTORS MEETING

February 6, 2015 Via Teleconference

				Resolution Name: Jose Chiu Award Nominations																				
Resolution Tally Sheet		olution										Resolution Name: Jose Uniu Award Nominations												
	Maker: C			Glading								AFFECTS POLICY MANUAL:												
on Ta	Second: E			Bossi							YES = Yes				ABS = Abstain				PXY = Proxy Vote					
olutie	Date: 0			02/06/15							NO = No N/A = Absent REC = R PASS = Pass							Recu	ıse					
Res	Time	14:25																	_					
											COMMENTS:													
			ı	1	1 _		1		ı	1	1	1	ı	ı	ı	ı	ı	1	1	1	1	T		
		В	В О	С	D C	D C	D	1	J	L	L A	L	М	1	0	Ţ	Р	Р	R D	S	S	PRES		
		0 S	S	L	Α -	A -	F W	D F	F K	A X	X	G A	I A	M A	R D	O R	H L	H X	U	F O	T L	Tie-Breaker		
			ı		AA	US					ı								ı					
								rţi							dge				uo					
		Jark	3S		ıta	=	lley	h-Ma		es	шо	dey	_	man	cenni	<u>e</u>	inke	ē.	hers		+	bu		
		Denmark	Vargas	Bossi	Valenta	Britton	O'Kelley	Walsh-Martin	Lewis	Nikides	Ransom	Casadey	Moyer	Trautman	Breckenridge	Wroble	Kaswinkel	Seelye	MacPherson	Salas	Foust	Glading		
Y	'ES		\boxtimes	\boxtimes	\boxtimes	\boxtimes	\boxtimes	\boxtimes	\square	\square	\boxtimes	\square	\square	\boxtimes		\square		\square	\boxtimes					
1	NO																							
P	ASS		\Box	П	П	\Box	\Box	$\overline{\Box}$	$\overline{\Box}$	$\overline{\Box}$	$\overline{\Box}$	\Box	$\overline{\Box}$	$\overline{\Box}$	$\overline{\Box}$	$\overline{\Box}$	$\overline{\Box}$	$\overline{\Box}$	$\overline{\Box}$	\Box	$\overline{\Box}$	\Box		
Α	BS		\Box	\Box	\Box	\Box	\Box	\Box	$\overline{\Box}$	\Box	$\overline{\Box}$	\Box	\Box	$\overline{\Box}$	$\overline{\Box}$	\Box	\Box	\Box	$\overline{\Box}$	\Box	\Box	\Box		
١	N/A		$\overline{\Box}$	\Box	\Box	\Box	$\overline{\sqcap}$	\Box	\Box	\Box	$\overline{\Box}$	$\overline{\Box}$	$\overline{\Box}$	$\overline{\Box}$	$\overline{\Box}$	$\overline{\Box}$	$\overline{\Box}$	\Box	$\overline{\Box}$	$\overline{\Box}$	\Box			
P	XY		$\overline{\Box}$	$\overline{\Box}$	$\overline{\Box}$	$\overline{\Box}$	$\bar{\Box}$	$\bar{\Box}$	$\overline{\Box}$	$\overline{\Box}$	$\overline{\Box}$	$\overline{\Box}$	$\overline{\Box}$	$\overline{\Box}$	$\overline{\Box}$	$\overline{\Box}$	$\overline{\Box}$	$\overline{\Box}$	$\overline{\Box}$	$\overline{\Box}$	$\overline{\Box}$			
R	REC		$\overline{\Box}$	\Box	\Box	\Box	$\overline{\Box}$	$\overline{\Box}$	$\overline{\Box}$	$\overline{\sqcap}$	$\overline{\Box}$	$\overline{\Box}$	$\overline{\Box}$	\Box	$\overline{\Box}$	$\overline{\Box}$	$\overline{\Box}$	$\overline{\sqcap}$	\Box	$\overline{\sqcap}$	$\overline{\Box}$			
				YES:		20		NO:		0		ABSTAIN:		0		ABSENT:		0						
				1	⊏ 3:	2	20		NU:	0		AB91	AIN:	0		AB2	ENI:	0						
	S		Status:		Passed 🖂			Failed			Та		bled			Withdrawn]	how of Hands				

WHEREAS, the APFA Board of Directors created the Jose Chiu Award to recognize APFA Flight Attendant members who have suffered serious injury or death in the course of an evacuation or other aircraft emergency; and

WHEREAS, twenty-four years ago this week, on February 1, 1991, Flight Attendants Bill Ibarra, Deanna Bethea, Vance Spurgeon and Patricia Hodges were working US Air Flight 1493 from SYR to

LAX; and

WHEREAS, the tower cleared the 737 to land on an LAX runway after it had cleared SkyWest Flight 5569 for takeoff on that same runway, and a horrific crash ensued; and

WHEREAS, with the aircraft engulfed in flames, the four Flight Attendants evacuated and saved the lives of as many of their passengers and crew as possible; and

WHEREAS, Bill Ibarra, Vance Spurgeon and Patricia Hodges survived with serious injuries that took years to heal, while Lead Flight Attendant Deanna Bethea was one of the twenty-one people who perished that day, including US Air Captain Colin Shaw and all 12 souls on board SkyWest Flight 5569; and

WHEREAS, years have passed, and today Bill Ibarra is an integral part of APFA's Critical Incident Stress Management (CISM) Program, and assists his fellow Flight Attendants who have been involved in traumatic events in the workplace and is a shining example of human resilience in the face of tragedy; and

WHEREAS, APFA wishes to recognize, honor and express our gratitude to all four Flight Attendants for their remarkable courage and bravery;

BE IT THEREFORE RESOLVED, that the APFA Board of Directors bestows the Jose Chiu Award upon Flight Attendants Bill Ibarra, Deanna Bethea (posthumously), Vance Spurgeon and Patricia Hodges.