APFA

BOARD OF DIRECTORS MEETING

FALL BOARD OF DIRECTORS MEETING

October 15-16, 2019

Hilton Garden Inn Dallas at Hurst Conference Center

Hurst, TX

heet	Resolution #:	9			Resolution Name: Martha W Griffiths Award - Hancock											
ılly SI	Maker:	Bassani					AFFECTS POLICY MANUAL:									
on Ta	Second:	Trua	n				YES = Yes NO = No PASS = Pass				ABS = Abstain N/A = Absent			PXY =Proxy VoteREC =Recuse		
Resolution Tally Sheet	Date:	10/17	//2019													
Re	Time:	11:15	5 a.m.				Comments:									
								MMEN I S								
		B O S	C L T	D C A	D F W	L A X	L G A	M I A	O R D	P H L	P H X	R D U I	S F O	S T L	PRES Tie- Breaker	
		Milenkovic	Hazlewood	Pennel	Truan	Nikides	Norvell	Trautman	Howard	Kaswinkel	Babi	Sullivan	Toms	Martin	Bassani	
	YES	\square								\boxtimes						
	NO															
	PASS															
	ABS															
	N/A															
	PXY															
	REC															
	Status:	YES: Passed		13	NO: Failed		0		ABSTAIN: Tabled		ABSENT:) 7 S	how of Hands	s 🗆	
													L			- L

WHEREAS, under Article III, Sections 3.L (14) and (15) of the APFA Constitution, the Board of Directors is authorized to recognize the accomplishments and achievements of members of APFA and give annual awards; and

WHEREAS, Section 2.H.1.a.(2) of the APFA Policy Manual provides:

(a) The Martha W. Griffiths Award, APFA's highest award, may be bestowed by the APFA Board of Directors upon current or former APFA representatives.

- (b) Recipients of the Martha W. Griffiths Award shall have the privilege of wearing a special pin which shall represent the APFA pin encircled with a star and embellished with a diamond.
 - and

WHEREAS, Section 2.H.1.a (5)(b)[1] of the Policy Manual provides that: Recipients of the Martha W. Griffiths Award shall be presented with the Martha W. Griffiths Award pin and a written commemoration of the recognition of their contribution to the APFA shall be presented at the Annual Convention following the meeting at which the Board of Directors bestows the award; and

WHEREAS, in his 35 years as an American Airlines Flight Attendant, Patrick Hancock has been based at Dallas/Fort Worth; and

WHEREAS, during his career with APFA, Patrick has served in many capacities including, but not limited to, DFW Base Council Representative, an AdHoc Member of the Executive Committee, Base Retirement, Pension and Benefits Committee, National Retirement Specialist, Strike Captain and one of the Dallas 20; and

WHEREAS, in his long career as an APFA representative, Patrick has been a tireless advocate for Unionism and for the Membership;

WHEREAS, Patrick devotes his time and friendship to his colleagues, providing tremendous support and mentoring in their Union work and for the advancement of the Flight Attendant Profession;

BE IT THEREFORE RESOLVED, that the Martha W. Griffiths Award, APFA's highest honor, be presented to Patrick Hancock in recognition of his contribution to APFA at the 2020 convention.